Skip to main content

       New Jersey
            New York



HomeHistory - District
Second District
Historical Sketches 1947-1973


The Second District Conference, was founded in Brooklyn, N.Y. in 1947 shortly after being transferred from the First District which included Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut.


When formed the District was composed of five states: New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware and the Eastern Shore of Maryland. When the newly formed District was transferred there were eleven chapters and in 1973 there were forty-four chapters (twelve undergraduate, three Intermediate, and twenty-nine Graduate Chapters).


During the period of 25 years since its transfer changing times and with the growth of Chapters, our distinguished Omega Men in the District assumed competence and proper in all the basic fields of endeavor. Many of the brothers grew in strength and wisdom and it produced growth in the various communities and the Second District became a stronger organization.


THE FIRST OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT WERE: Brother Nathaniel Burrell, a Forty year Honoree was elected the first President of the District Conference. However, at the next District meeting in Syracuse, N.Y., this office was abolished because the District Parliamentarian ruled that this office did not exist constitutionally.


The late Brother Mifflin T. Gibbs of Mu Omega Chapter in Philadelphia, PA was elected the first District Representative. His duties and responsibilities were clearly defined in Omega's Constitution. The duties of the other District Officers were defined in the Second District By- Laws.


Brother Marion English, of Brooklyn, N.Y. a YMCA Secretary was the first elected DKR & S and he was succeeded by Brother National Burrell and he held this office for ten years. Brother Burrell was succeeded by James L. Murray and both were cited for their meritorious service to the District.


Brother Richard E. Carey, Esq., of Xi Phi Chapter and the former Grand Counsellor was the first District Counsellor. Brother Carey also wrote with the assistance of other brothers the first District By-Laws and Constitution.


Brother H. Albion Ferrell (Grand Chaplain) was elected as the first District Chaplain. His successor was William C. Jason, Jr. (deceased) of Mu Omega Chapter of Philadelphia, PA. Brother Jason later became Chairman of the Recommendations Committee and he served with distinction.


     Forward to 2nd District History Page 2